NewsPoliticalInside The Statehouse

Actions

Lawmakers eye hands free driving law

Texas deputy caught texting and driving by man he arrested
Posted at 5:17 PM, Feb 18, 2020
and last updated 2020-02-18 19:17:58-05

BOISE — A number of cities in Idaho have passed ordinances restricting the use of cell phones and other electronic devices while driving.

Related: Boise votes to ban drivers from using cellphones

Now, several state senators are supporting a bill to put a law in effect statewide. Senate Bill 13-14 would allow police officers to pull you over if they saw you using a mobile device behind the wheel.

"This shouldn't be about limiting local control, rather creating sound statewide policy to reduce injuries and dangerous situations. People using phones while driving are not safe drivers, they're lucky drivers," said Chief Jeff Lavey, with Meridian Police.

Related: Hands-free device law now in effect in Meridian city boundaries

The bill would make a fine of $75 for the first offense, and $150 for the second within a three year period. On a third offense in three years, the fine would double to $300.

With three or more violations, you could get your license suspended.

If the bill becomes law on July 1, it allows for a six month grace period, which means officers wouldn't write tickets until the first of the year.