BOISE — Idaho will be even tougher on drunk drivers in 2019 then in previous years. As of Tuesday morning, anyone in the Gem State to receive their first DUI will be required by law to install an ignition lock with a breathalyzer at their own expense if they want to keep driving. The device makes the driver blow into a mouthpiece before starting the vehicle. Matthew Conde, public affairs director for AAA Idaho, says the device prevents people from driving if they are intoxicated.
The bill passed last March and made Idaho the 29th state to participated in the fight against drinking and driving. Even a company that installs the devices tells us with resources so readily available these days, it's easy to avoid a DUI and this device altogether.
"Use the stuff that is around you know taxis, Uber, and Lyft. It's just easier to do that than being stuck doing this because it's a pain because you hear it from a lot of customers. You feel bad for them but at the same time they have to go through the process of this," said Sergei Fedorchuck, an Instoxalock certified installer at Tint World.
Idaho previously only required the interlock device for repeat offenders. This law went into effect on New Years, so if you are charged with your first DUI you are also required to pay fines up to $1,000 and possibly service up to 6 months in jail.
If you want more information on the Intoxalock system, click here .