Petrino named Sun Belt Coach of the Year

Posted at 10:49 PM, Dec 07, 2016
and last updated 2016-12-08 00:49:14-05

University of Idaho football coach Paul Petrino, who led the Vandals to one of the most dramatic turnarounds in the nation over the past four seasons, was voted the Sun Belt Conference Coach of the Year, while junior defensive tackle Aikeem Coleman and senior kicker/punter Austin Rehkow share the spotlight with him.

Aikeem is the league’s Newcomer of the Year and Rehkow is a first-team choice at punter and a second-team selection at kicker. Joining them as post-season honorees are junior quarterback Matt Linehan, senior center Steven Matlock and senior defensive lineman Tueni Lupeamanu as second-team choices. Coleman also is a second-team selection.

Earning honorable mention recognition are senior tight end Buck Cowan, junior offensive lineman Jordan Rose, and sophomore linebackers Kaden Elliss and Tony Lashley. True freshman offensive lineman Noah Johnson, who earned a starting role just a couple months after his high school graduation, is on the all-newcomer team.

First Team All-Sun Belt Conference Special Teams

Austin Rehkow (Idaho, Senior, P)

Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference Offense

Matt Linehan (Idaho, Junior, QB)
Steven Matlock (Idaho, Senior, OL)

Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference Defense

Aikeem Coleman (Idaho, Junior, DL)

Tueni Lupeamanu (Idaho, Senior, DL)

Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference Special Teams
Austin Rehkow (Idaho, Senior, PK)

Newcomer of the Year

Aikeem Coleman (Idaho, Junior, DL)

Coach of the Year

Paul Petrino, Idaho

All-Sun Belt Conference Honorable Mention

Trent Cowan (Idaho, Sr., Tight end)
Kaden Elliss (Idaho, So., Linebacker)
Tony Lashley (Idaho, So., Linebacker)
Jordan Rose (Idaho, Jr., Offensive line)