New fire restrictions in place in Treasure Valley/West Central Mountains

Posted at 6:32 AM, Aug 01, 2016
and last updated 2016-08-01 08:32:11-04

New fire restrictions are now in place in areas of the Treasure Valley and West Central mountains.  The Stage 1 Fire Restrictions took effect this morning at 12:01 and will remain in place until further notice.  Fire managers say by following these restrictions you can help lower any risk of preventable fires in the impacted areas.

Here are the restrictions as laid out in the press release:

The identified areas going into Stage 1 Fire Restrictions include private and public lands protected by the Boise National Forest, Boise District BLM and State and Endowment Lands within:

* Ada, Canyon, Gem, Payette, Elmore, Boise, Valley and Washington Counties
* Within Washington County all Bureau of Reclamation Lands surrounding Mann Creek Reservoir
* Within Valley County all Bureau of Reclamation Lands surrounding Cascade Reservoir
* Within Elmore and Boise Counties all Bureau of Reclamation Lands surrounding Arrowrock and Anderson

Under Stage 1 Fire Restrictions, the following acts are prohibited on the restricted state and private forest and range lands, and federally managed lands, roads and trails:

* Building, maintaining, attending or using a fire, campfire or stove fire except within an agency designated recreation site* and only within an agency provided structure, or on a private citizen’s own land and only within an owner-provided fire structure.
* Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle, building or designated recreation site, or while stopped in an area at least three feet in diameter that is barren or cleared of all flammable materials.
*A “designated recreation site” is a recreation site that: 1) is included on the individual National Forest’s list of areas where campfires are permitted; and 2) which contains a Forest-provided fire ring. Campfires are not permitted at sites that do not have a Forest-provided ring. The list of approved sites is available at Ranger District offices or at: Boise National Forest

Exemptions for Stage 1 Areas:
* Persons with a written permit that specifically authorizes the otherwise prohibited act.
* Persons using fire solely by liquid petroleum or LPG fuels. Such devices, including propane campfires, may be used only in an area cleared of flammable material.
* Private landowners using charcoal (disposed of properly) or propane barbecues on their own lands.
* Persons conducting activities in those designated areas where the activity is specifically authorized by written posted notice.
* Any federal, state or local officer or member of an organized rescue or firefighting force, in the performance of an official duty.
* All land within a city boundary.

An exemption does not absolve an individual or organization from liability or responsibility for any fire started by the exempted activity.

The maximum penalty for violating a fire restriction order may differ depending on the agency: U.S. Forest Service - The maximum penalty for violating the restriction order is $5,000 for individuals and $10,000 for corporations and/or 6 months imprisonment. BLM - Punishable by a fine of not more than $1,000 and/or imprisonment for not more than 12 months. IDL - Misdemeanor and actual cost of suppression

Specific language pertaining to the restriction designated areas follows:

Treasure Valley Fire Restrictions Zone – All of Ada, Canyon, Gem, Payette and Washington Counties. Portions of Boise County including the administrative boundary of Lucky Peak Lake to Arrowrock Dam, south shore of Arrowrock Reservoir and that portion of Elmore County that lies south of the South Fork Boise River to Anderson Ranch Dam, south along Anderson Dam Road (FS Rd 134) to Highway 20, east on Highway 20 to the Elmore/Gooding County line south to Interstate 84. The Treasure Valley Restriction area is bounded by the Idaho/Oregon boundary to Oreana then follows the Bachman Grade to Triangle and continues east-northeast of the Owyhee Front to the Bruneau River. The northern boundary begins near Weiser, Idaho and follows Highway 95 to Indian Valley, then generally follows the Little Weiser River to the Payette and Boise National Forest boundary lines.

West Central Mountains Fire Restrictions Zone – Boise National Forest, Boise District BLM and State and Endowment Lands within Elmore County, Boise County, and Valley County to include all Bureau of Reclamation Lands surrounding Cascade Reservoir. From the point where the Boise National Forest boundary intersects State Highway 20 near Dixie following the Boise National Forest boundary west and north along the ridge of the Danskin to Boise Front foothills and extending north encompassing the Idaho Department of Lands to its intersection back with the Boise National Forest boundary near Sagehen Reservoir. The far northern boundary includes all Boise National Forest lands, excluding the Frank Church River of No Return Wilderness. All lands north of Sagehen Reservoir including Tripod Mountain and West Mountain within the North Fork Payette River drainage north to near Tamarack Resort.