Local groups create COVID-19 Response Fund for Idaho

Posted at 5:04 PM, Mar 16, 2020
and last updated 2020-03-16 19:11:01-04

Idaho has 5 confirmed cases of the coronavirus (COVID-19). Now. three local groups are banding together to help support those most impacted.

The Idaho Community Foundation, the United Way of Treasure Valley, and the Idaho Nonprofit Center are working together to help Idahoans in need.

"This is an unprecedented crisis--we know that. What's challenging is how this is impacting individuals economically. Schools, businesses, whole industries are being slowly squeezed and that means wages, workers are really struggling and may not know day to day if they're going to have a job," said Nora Carpenter, President and CEO of United Way of Treasure Valley.

That's why the groups are creating the COVID-19 Response Fund for Idaho, which will provide grants to local organizations that will give support to those most impacted by COVID-19.

"It's really an opportunity to pool resources in a way that is going to be really supportive in a way to not duplicate our efforts but help in the way we know best," said Karen Bilowith, President and CEO of the Idaho Community Foundation. "All of our missions are similar in that we are here to help and enrich Idaho citizens and the quality of life throughout our state. We're excited to offer the opportunity statewide--people can contribute to the community where they live or they can donate to the state fund--so that we can have an effective, immediate and organized response."

The grants are meant to fill the gap not covered by efforts being put in place through public institutions, including cities, the state or the federal government, officials say.

Donors to the fund will be able to support the entire state or the region of their choice. If you'd like to donate, click the following links:

  • East Idaho: Bannock, Bear Lake, Bingham, Bonneville, Butte, Caribou, Clark, Custer, Franklin, Fremont, Jefferson, Lemhi, Madison, Oneida, Power and Teton counties
  • North Idaho: Benewah, Bonner, Boundary, Clearwater, Idaho, Kootenai, Latah, Lewis, Nez Perce and Shoshone counties
  • South Central Idaho: Blaine, Camas, Cassia, Elmore, Gooding, Jerome, Lincoln, Minidoka and Twin Falls counties
  • Southwest Idaho: Ada, Adams, Boise, Canyon, Gem, Owyhee, Payette, Valley and Washington counties
  • Statewide: All Idaho counties

A grantmaking process and selection criteria are being developed and will be announced later, once donations have begun to accumulate in the fund, officials say.