Idaho legislators take steps for schools

Posted at 2:49 PM, Feb 01, 2021
and last updated 2021-02-02 10:32:03-05

BOISE, Idaho — One in three Idaho children is overweight or obese but the Blue Cross of Idaho Foundation is hoping to change that and they are tapping lawmakers to help.

During the session, legislators and other elected leaders will be competing in the Steps for Schools challenge. The goal is to average 5,000 or 10,000 steps every day in February and to set a good example of healthy active lifestyles.

“We are grateful that so many of our elected officials are making time to do what’s good for their own health as well as benefitting children in their district,” said Kendra Witt-Doyle, Executive Director, Blue Cross of Idaho Foundation for Health. “Whether they are walking in their communities on the weekends or around the Capitol during the session, these officials are setting a great example about the importance of being active.”

This year, more than 60 elected officials are participating. Those who achieve their goal will either receive a $500 or $1,000 donations to a school of their choice for playground or physical education equipment.

Last year, more than $40,000 was given to Idaho schools from Steps for Schools earnings.

Below are the names of participants for this year’s challenge:

  • Lt. Gov. Janice McGeachin
  • Attorney Gen. Lawrence Wasden
  • Controller Brandon Woolf
  • Sen. Jeff Agenbroad
  • Sen. Kevin Cook
  • Sen. Mark Harris
  • Sen. Lori Den Hartog
  • Sen. Abby Lee
  • Sen. David Nelson
  • Sen. Jim Patrick
  • Sen. Doug Ricks
  • Sen. Peter Riggs
  • Sen. Mary Souza
  • Sen. Michelle Stennett
  • Sen. Steve Vick
  • Sen. Janie Ward-Engelking
  • Sen. Chuck Winder
  • Sen. Melissa Wintrow
  • Rep. Jim Addis
  • Rep. Paul Amador
  • Rep. Kevin Andrus
  • Rep. Matthew Bundy
  • Rep. David Cannon
  • Rep. Chad Christensen
  • Rep. Lance Clow
  • Rep. Muffy Davis
  • Rep. Gayann DeMordaunt
  • Rep. Sage Dixon
  • Rep. Barb Ehardt
  • Rep. Marco Erickson
  • Rep. Greg Ferch
  • Rep. Rod Furniss
  • Rep. Codi Galloway
  • Rep. Codi Galloway
  • Rep. Terry Gestrin
  • Rep. Marc Gibbs
  • Rep. Priscilla Giddings
  • Rep. Karey Hanks
  • Rep. Linda Wright Hartgen
  • Rep. Wendy Horman
  • Rep. Clark Kauffman
  • Rep. Ryan Kerby
  • Rep. Laurie Lickley
  • Rep. Dustin Manwaring
  • Rep. John McCrostie
  • Rep. Brandon Mitchell
  • Rep. Dorothy Moon
  • Rep. Colin Nash
  • Rep. Lauren Necochea
  • Rep. Tammy Nichols
  • Rep. Ilana Rubel
  • Rep. James Ruchti
  • Rep. Heather Scott
  • Rep. Charlie Shepherd
  • Rep. Scott Syme
  • Rep. Sally Toone
  • Rep. Caroline Troy
  • Rep. Aaron von Ehlinger
  • Rep. Jon Weber
  • Rep. Tony Wisniewski
  • Rep. Julie Yamamoto
  • Rep. Julianne Young
  • Rep. Rick Youngblood